Vegetarianism

What is “Vegetarianism”?Definition: Vegetarianism is the practice of following a plant-based diet including fruits, vegetables, cereal grains, nuts, and seeds, with or without dairy products and eggs.

A vegetarian does not eat meat. This means no:

  • red meat
  • game
  • poultry
  • fish
  • crustacea
  • shellfish
  • products of animal slaughter such as animal-derived gelatin and rennet
There are a number of types of vegetarianism, which exclude or include various foods:
  • Lacto-ovo vegetarianism: includes animal products such as eggs, milk, and honey
  • Lacto vegetarianism: includes milk but not eggs
  • Ovo vegetarianism: includes eggs but not milk
  • Veganism: excludes all animal flesh and animal products, including milk, honey, eggs
  • Raw veganism: includes only fresh and uncooked fruit, nuts, seeds, and vegetables
  • Fruitarianism: permits only fruit, nuts, seeds, and other plant matter that can be gathered without harming the plant
  • Su vegetarianism (such as in Buddhism): excludes all animal products as well as vegetables in the allium family (which have the characteristic aroma of onion and garlic): onion, garlic, scallions, leeks, or shallots
  • Macrobiotic diets: consist mostly of whole grains and beans

Related Posts: